Kells Courthouse was built in 1801 on the commission of Lord Headfort. It was designed by the prominent Irish architect, Francis Johnston who also designed the General Post Office, Nelson’s Pillar, Townley Hall and the East Gate entrance to Slane Castle. When first built the downstairs was used as a courthouse and upstairs for entertaining local residents. In more recent years it was a local library.
Today it has a much more modern interior with Interactive multimedia touch screens, with video engages to inspire visitors to the exhibition to explore Kells and the surrounding Boyne Valley. A facsimile copy of the Book of Kells, a replica of the Kells Crozier (an elaborately decorated staff that was a symbol of the office of a bishop or abbot), and the Kells town model are all on view and Boyne Valley Tourism staff are on hand to give advice.
Address: Headfort Road, Kells, Co Meath, A82 RY62
Telephone no.@ 046-9247508
Email address: email@example.com